PE/Health/Driver Ed

Faculty

Stephanie Smithson M.A. Concordia University Chicago ssmithson@pontiac90.org
Gary Brunner M.S. Chicago State University gbrunner@pontiac90.org
Buck Casson B.A. Rice University bcasson@pontiac90.org
Corey Christenson M.S. Ohio University cchristenson@pontiac90.org
Mike Lucas M.A. Olivet University mlucas@pontiac90.org
Nicole Ropp M.A. Concordia University Chicago nropp@pontiac90.org
.

PE Student Handbook 2017-2018

 

Course Descriptions

PHYSICAL EDUCATION (500, 501, 510, 511)
Class Level: 9, 10, 11, 12 Credit: 1 Prerequisite: None
A course in physical education is required of all students during each assigned semester at PTHS. Activities are designed to develop proper health attitudes and habits, to stimulate interest in sports which will carry over into adult life, and to provide opportunities for the development of desirable character traits. Activities are arranged seasonally. Students take a required curriculum during the freshman year and an elective curriculum for their final three years. As part of their elective curriculum, each student must complete no less than the following:
1. 2 team building units
2. 2 creative movements units
3. 3 individual and dual sport activities
4. 1 swimming unit in addition to the freshman level
HEALTH EDUCATION (540)
Class Level: 10 Credit: 1/2 Prerequisite: None
Health Education is a state mandated course required for graduation. The overall aim of the school health program is for the student to work toward the development of a sound mind and body, to maintain and improve his own health, and to take appropriate responsibility in protecting the health of others. This course concentrates on the basic knowledge needed by the student in the areas of (1) understanding self, (2) human sexuality, (3) personal health habits, (4) drugs, alcohol and tobacco, (5) diseases, and (6) safety and emergency care.
DRIVER EDUCATION (550, 553, 554, 557)
Class Level: Age Appropriate Credit: 1/4 Prerequisite: Academic Criteria
This course prepares the student for the acquisition of a driver’s license by providing safe driving instruction and driving experience. The course of instruction required of each student at the high school level shall consist of a minimum of 30 clock hours of classroom instruction taught by a certified high school teacher. (This means the student shall be physically present in the room with the certified teacher for at least 30 clock hours). Also, an approved course in practice driving consisting of a minimum of 6 clock hours of individual behind-the-wheel instruction or its equivalent in a car which shall be provided.